• Head Office: Australia, +61 2 9687 3323   
  • opmgr@ahmi.edu.au
  • CRICOS Code: 03595K | RTO Provider ID: 70252
ICT50220 - Diploma of Information Technology in Sydney, NSW | AHMI
Australian Health and Management Institute Responsibility for Delivering Australian Qualifications:

The Australian Government oversees Registered Training Organisations to ensure that quality standards of education and awarding qualifications meet the requirements of the Australian Qualifications Framework. Therefore, Australian Health and Management Institute is responsible for the quality of training and assessment, student support services and the issuance of Australian Qualifications Framework certification on completion of a course.

Australian Health and Management Institute AQF Courses

The following Australian Health and Management Institute courses are delivered and assessed under the Australian Qualifications Framework to ensure quality training and assessment. The following AQF courses are listed on the National Register at www.training.gov.au and on CRICOS http://cricos.education.gov.au/Institution/InstitutionDetails.aspx?ProviderCode=03595K

l1logo ICT50220 Diploma of Information Technology
Specialisation: Cyber Security and Telecommunication Network Engineering   Back

CRICOS Course Code: 106312C
Duration: 104 weeks (80 weeks delivery plus 24 weeks term break)

  • Mode of Study
  • Course Description
  • Course Structure
  • Entry Requirement
  • Career Opportunities
  • Education Pathways
  • Exit Point/Award

Students study full time mixed mode of delivery that integrates:

  • Face to Face, Online and Self Study* Total of 20 hours per week.
  • * self-study to revise and reinforce areas of knowledge, assessment research and assessment preparation and completion

Diploma of Information Technology reflects the role of individuals in a variety of information and communications technology (ICT) roles who have established specialised skills in a technical ICT function.

Individuals in these roles carry out moderately complex tasks in a specialist field, working independently, as part of a team or leading a deliverable with others. They may apply their skills across a wide range of industries, business functions and departments, or as a business owner (sole trader/contractor).

Diploma of Information Technology consists of twenty (20) units of competency, comprising 6 core units and 14 elective units, in accordance with the packaging rules.

Core Units


Originate and develop concepts


Promote workplace cyber security awareness and best practices


Lead and facilitate a team


Match ICT needs with the strategic direction of the organisation


Apply IP, ethics and privacy in ICT environments


Manage client problems

Cyber security specialisation


Gather, analyse and interpret threat data


Protect critical infrastructure for organisations


Utilise design methodologies for security architecture


Develop, implement and evaluate an incident response plan


Review and update disaster recovery and contingency plans

Telecommunications network engineering specialisation


Develop detailed component specifications from project specifications


Evaluate networking regulations and legislation for the telecommunications industry


Manage network and data integrity


Configure, verify and troubleshoot WAN links and IP services


Manage ICT projects


Design network building projects

General Electives


Develop and maintain blockchain solutions


Install IT devices and networks


Manage project quality

International Students must be 18 years of age at the time of enrolment

Academic Entry Requirements: Year 12 or equivalent of Australian HSC.

English Language Entry Requirements: IELTS score 6.0 (with no bands less than 5.5) or equivalent Pearson Test of English (PTE).)

Graduates at this level will have the skills for specialised work. Job roles and titles may vary but can include:

  • IT Support Services
  • Quality Auditing
  • Business Administration
  • IT Officer Manager
  • Security Analyst
  • Incident Responder
  • Virus Technician
  • ICT Security
  • Database/Systems Administrator
  • Chief Information Security Officer
  • Public Administration and Safety
  • Financial and Insurance Services
  • Telecommunications Network Designer
  • Telecommunications Network Manager
  • Telecommunications Network Planner
  • Optical Network Manager
  • Senior Specialist Technician (Telecommunications)
  • Telecommunications Technical Officer
  • Senior Technical Officer (Telecommunications Engineering)
  • Telecommunications Engineer
  • IP Convergence Integrator
  • Senior Technical Officer (Electronic Technology)

Further training pathways from this qualification may lead to any of the following qualifications:

  • ICT60220 Advanced Diploma of Information Technology
  • BSB60420 Advanced Diploma of Leadership and Management

Students that successfully complete all 20 units of competency as stated in the Course Structure will be issued with ICT50220 Diploma of Information Technology. This qualification is recognised nationally under the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF).

Students that complete some but not all of the units of competency as stated in the Course Structure may be issued with a Statement of Attainment. It will identify only those units of competence that have been completed as part of the qualification and recognised nationally under the AQF.

Enrol now for Details.